Modes of the Major Scale

What Are The 7 Modes Of The Major Scale?

Ecclesiastical modes, also named church modes, Greek modes or Gregorian modes formed in the Middle Ages a set of scales whose use has weakened because of the appearance of the major / minor tonal system. Many centuries later these modes have reappeared. 

How Are Built The Modes Of The Major Scale?

Modes of a scale are constructed by moving the tonic on the different degrees of this scale. There are seven modes in the major scale :

The Seven Modes Of The Major Scale :

Guitar scale dictionary pdf method









Click on the links below to access the lessons