Scales & modes

Scales & modesA "scale" is a sequence of ascending or descending "pitches" that form a palette of notes that can be used to form a melody. The notes have differing intervals between them, sometimes it's one half-step (semitone), other times it's a whole step (two semitones).

There are many sorts of scales, including the "standard" diatonic scale (in western music): 

  • Chromatic scale (every half note in an octave).
  • whole-tone scale (notes a whole step apart).
  • Pentatonic scales (the most used scale).
  • Bebop scales (eight notes scales)

They can even include quarter-tones and other microtones in the music of other cultures.

A "mode" is a specific type of scale. Each such sequence created by starting on a different note of a scale is a "mode" of that scale, and each mode has a name.

  • Modes of the major scale

    Here are the seven modes of the major scale. Ionian, dorian, phrygian, lydian, mixolydian, aeolian, locrian. How to play them on the guitar.
  • Modes of the harmonic minor scale

    The modes of the harmonic minor scale, Locrian 13, Ionian #5, Dorian #11, Phrygian dominant, Lydian #2, super locrian bb7.
  • Modes of the melodic minor scale

    Here the are seven modes of the melodic minor scale. Jazz guitar lesson with diagrams, patterns, guitar positions and fingerings.
  • Bebop scales

    Bebop scales are very used in jazz music and a must know for any jazz student.
  • Pentatonic scales

    How to play pentatonic scales on guitar. Jazz guitar lessons with guitar fretboard diagrams, theory, scale charts and licks.
  • Blues scales

    Here are the main blues scales, composite blues scale, hexatonic, heptatonic, nonatonic, mixo blues, minor blues & major blues scales for jazz guitarists.
  • Symmetric scales

    Symmetric scales for jazz guitar. Lesson with diagrams and scales charts. Diminished, half whole, augmented and whole tone scales.


Subscribe the newsletter 

To keep you informed of the latest lessons and articles. (no spam)